When cloning a site, a new DB and user are created for the new cloned site always. This new cloned site is a new site with a different domain, so it can not use the same DB and user as the original site.
Ok, now I understand!
Currently, the "overwrite" option is just removing the old site and cloning the new site. So, as you can see, it's not really "overwriting", it just simulates this operation.
I'm scheduling right now these two improvements in our release plan for the next year (v1.17.0 maybe):
Thanks for reporting these improvements.
Edit: Support when cloning does not make sense, if we can do it when creating the site and preserve it when overwriting it, it's enough! Now scheduled for v1.16.1.
PayPal · GitHub Sponsors · Bitcoin